rd premium 2013

VanderBeek Finds Success in Ogilvie

Photo: Jacy Norgaard

Zack VanderBeek got around Jason Krohn with six laps to go, and then held off Rodney Sanders in the closing laps to win the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup main event Saturday at the Ogilvie Raceway.

It was the first trip to victory lane for ‘The Z-Man’ since June 18 in Grain Valley, Mo., and the 27th of his United States Modified Touring Series career.

Krohn beat fellow front-row starter Clayton Wagamon into the first corner to take command of the race at the start with Sanders following into second at the completion of the first lap.

Rainout Finds Phillips in USMTS Victory Lane

Photo: Chris Bork

Every once in a while a race fan buys a ticket and the stars align to deliver ideal weather conditions, a perfectly-prepared racetrack and an unforgettable race that has more action than two eyeballs can keep up with.

Such was the case Saturday night at the Lucas Oil Speedway as race fans witnessed Terry Phillips pass half the field to win the 5th Annual Lucas Slick Mist Show-Me Shootout and a 40-lap main event that featured more plot twists than an entire season of soap operas.

Photo: Lloyd Collins


Those in attendance for night one of the annual King of the Hill Late Model Shootout will remember the 25-lap, $2,000-to-win main event by one word ... domination!

Marshalltown, Iowa's Ryan Gustin began the main event at Delmar Friesen's pristine Junction Motor Speedway from pole position alongside Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Nebraska. Gustin made quick work of Wiarda and the rest of the field darting out to an early race lead.

Former MLRA Champion John Anderson drew the first of two cautions during the race when his car went around in turns three and four. One lap later on the third circuit, Tommy Weder, Jr. of Oklahoma also found trouble in turns three and four to draw the second and final caution flag of the event.

Gustin led the field after both restarts as Wiarda, Chad Simpson, Terry Phillips, and Jase Kaser tried to keep up with 'The Reaper's' torrid pace. With each passing lap Gustin's built a sizeable lead over Simpson with Phillips gaining ground to move inside the top three.

Meanwhile, fourteenth-starting Travis Dickes and seventeenth-starting Bill Leighton of Omaha continued raced their way towards the top five. As Gustin went unchallenged at the front, Phillips, Simpson, and Wiarda did all they could to keep the leader within site of the same straightaway.

With less than five laps remaining, Phillips surged into the runner-up position when Simpson's car veered out of the preferred racing line. Simpson quickly regrouped and held on to the third position by lap 23.


Gustin virtually went unchallenged save for a few close calls with lapped traffic as he claimed his third Lucas Oil MLRA main event of the year and fourth of his young and storied career.

Phillips claimed the second spot after starting fifth with series point's leader Chad Simpson finishing third. Wiarda held on for fourth while Dickes charged his way into the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Bill Leighton, Justin Asplin, J.C. Wyman, Justin Zeitner, and defending series champion, Tony Jackson, Jr.

Preliminary heat race victories went to Weder, Simpson, and Wiarda, while Jackson claimed the b-main. Twenty-eight cars competed throughout the evening for the night one portion of the double-header weekend.

On Saturday, drivers return for a $3,000-to-win main event with gates opening at 5 and racing at 7. Adult General Admission is $20 with kids ages 6 to 12 remaining $5. Saturday Pit Passes are $30.

Heading West on I-80 towards Grand Island, the speedway is located off Exit 353 via US-81, the physical address is 1206 Rd. 4, McCool Junction, NE 68401. Visit the speedway online at www.junctionmotorspeedway.com or call (402) 724-3100 for more information.

MLRA Results - Junction Motor Speedway - McCool Junction, Nebraska


8/8/14 Junction Motor Speedway Contingency Awards:
AR Bodies $50 Certificate for non-qualifier - David Garminn
Casey's General Stores Hard Charger - Bill Leighton
Chix Gear $25 Certificate for 7th Place Finisher - Justin Asplin

GRT Heat Race Winners - Chad Simpson, Mike Wiarda, Tommy Weder, Jr.
Hooker Harness Gift Certificate for 11th Place Finish - Kyle Berck
Landrum Springs Product Certificate - Ryan Gustin
Out Pace Certificate - Bill Koons
Peformance Bodies Certificate - Ryan Gustin

RacingJunk.com Hard Luck Award - Jeremy Payne

DirtOnDirt.com Pole Award - Ryan Gustin

MLRA 8/8/2014


A Feature: 1. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 4. Mike Wiarda (Aurora, NE), 5. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 6. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 7. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 8. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 9. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 10. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 11. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 12. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 13. Al Humphrey (Giltner, NE), 14. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 15. Dean Moore (Grand Junction, CO), 16. Les Siebert, 17. Scott Lewis (Henderson, Co), 18. Jase Kaser (Lincoln, NE), 19. John  Hansen (Brush, CO), 20. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 21. Wylan Petrie (Solomon, KS), 22. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 23. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 24. Jeremy Petty.


B Feature: 1. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 2. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 3. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 4. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 5. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 6. John  Hansen (Brush, CO), 7. Justin Gregg (Hastings, NE), 8. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 9. Jeremy Petty, 10. David Garmann (Brighton, CO), 11. Jarred Hackler, 12. Wylan Petrie (Solomon, KS), 13. Scott Lewis (Henderson, Co), 14. Tad Pospisil (Norfolk, NE), 15. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 16. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO).


Heat 1: 1. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 4. Al Humphrey (Giltner, NE), 5. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 6. Scott Lewis (Henderson, Co), 7. David Garmann (Brighton, CO), 8. Justin Gregg (Hastings, NE), 9. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 10. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO).


Heat 2: 1. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 2. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 3. Dean Moore (Grand Junction, CO), 4. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 5. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 6. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 7. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 8. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 9. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE).


Heat 3: 1. Mike Wiarda (Aurora, NE), 2. Jase Kaser (Lincoln, NE), 3. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 4. Les Siebert, 5. John  Hansen (Brush, CO), 6. Tad Pospisil (Norfolk, NE), 7. Jarred Hackler, 8. Jeremy Petty, 9. Wylan Petrie (Solomon, KS)

RacinDirt Rewind Login

Official Photo Contributors

lucas 2013

© Copyright 2010-2014 RacinDirt.com - All logos, photos, likeness, and video are copyrighted. Not for use without owners permission.